Hot topics close

Chelsea vs. Barnsley, Premier League: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, etc

It’s League Cup third round action from Stamford Bridge tonight, with all eyes on Lampard’s team selection.

And it looks like Antonio Rüdiger is indeed on his way out, while Callum Hudson-Odoi gets his chance. There’s also a start for Thiago Silva, while Ben Chilwell’s on the bench. There’s no Loftus-Cheek in the squad, though he is reportedly fit.

Here we go!

Chelsea starting lineup (4-2-3-1):Caballero | Emerson, Thiago Silva, Tomori, Azpilicueta (c) | Barkley, Kovačić | Mount, Havertz, Hudson-Odoi | Abraham

Substitutes from: Baxter, James, Zouma, Chilwell, Jorginho, Werner, Giroud

Barnsley starting lineup (4-3-3):Collins | J.Williams, Halme, Sollbauer, Ludewig | Styles, Mowatt, Ritzmaier | Woodrow, Schmidt, Frieser

Substitutes from: Walton, Odour, Moon, Simoes, Chaplin, Adeboyejo, Thomas

Date / Time: Wednesday, September 23, 2020, 19.45 BST; 2:45pm EDT; 12:15am IST (next day)Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6Referee: Darren Bond (on pitch); not sure who’s manning the VAR system, or if VAR’s even being used. Official Carabao Cup rules only mandate it for semifinals and finals, and make it optional for earlier rounds at grounds that already have the tech (goal-line or video review) installed. Chelsea obviously have both of those installed, but reports conflict as to whether they will be used.

On TV: none (UK); none (USA); none (India); SuperSport Premier League (NGA); elsewhereStreaming: CarabaoCup.live (UK: £10); ESPN+ (USA); JioTV (India); DStv Now (NGA) — We (WAGNH) have an affiliate link for ESPN+ if you’re in the US and would like to sign up for the best value in sports streaming (or, if you’re like me, sign up for the Disney-Hulu-ESPN+ bundle).

',c(t.firstChild,i)))})(window);
Similar shots